Peak Oil - End of the World as we know it in our lifetime?

Are we headed back to the pre-industrialised ages?

• Yes, we're all fooked. Not a damned thing we can do - we'll be squabbling over caves within 50 years

Votes: 6 100.0%
  • Its all a load of bollocks, what a stupid thread you've posted Rudyard. Slap yourself!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Rudyard

Jedi Knight
Have a read of this link if you have time: http://www.lifeaftertheoilcrash.net/

Who reckons we're all hurtling back to the stone age? I know its a bit of a 'way out there' subject, but personally I'm slightly worried that there could be something in it. Any scientists or economists out there?

weasel

Staff member
Supporter
Ehhh I guess strictly speaking I'm an Economist, got a degree in it. Altho I never did much on oil prices etc.
I'd worry more about water than oil. You can always use wind/wave/solar power to offset the loss of oil or the price hikes, plus they can invent more efficent engines etc. Not much you can use to drink if you haven't got any water.
It'll be the Middle East/Sub Continent where it'll kick off as well, there are a few nuclear powers there and a hell of a lot of people. sSmeone will damn a river and leave someone else with a severe water shortage then it'll all get nasty.

My own personal opinion there are far too many people on this planet anyway, with birth rates goin up and death rates stabalising well below the birth rate, I reckon we're all ****ed sooner or later anyway!

Who says I'm a miserable pessimistic bastard? :wink:

jayjedi

Sith Lord
i agree with weasel , there are to many people on the planet, and its getting worse.
so what can be done. in terms of power there are alternatives , wind solar etc and cars can be powered with gases or electricity. also technology will be improved and something will be done. 30 years ago it was "what happens when we run out of coal" and now we dont even mine the stuff, so things change as we must to survive.