Black light.

Lonebudman

Jedi Knight
Hi all

I haven't been collecting very long and i'm still learning all the pitfalls and tricks of collecting.

Recently I purchased a loose Princess Leia Organa which looked very white in the sellers photograph and paid a fair amount for it.Then when it arrived I was very disappointed as it didn't look anywhere near as white as the photograph.At first I thought it was a different figure I had been sent but I could see a small mark on the figure which was the same as the figure in the photograph.Then I thought it was the flash from the camera that made it look so white and tried to replicate the effect with my own camera but it still didn't look anywhere near as white as the photo.I then realised it was probably a black/uv light that has made it look so white,I looked at the sellers other listings and right enough you could tell a black light was used.

Is this a common practice sellers would use and is it frowned upon within the collecting community?
Personally I think its an underhand tactic to sell figures as there is no way I would of paid the amount I did knowing a black light had been used.
I did however pick up an excellent Princess Leia Organa figure for a quarter of the price I had paid for the first one on a BIN so it kinda balanced out.

Also on the subject of this particular figure,the first figure I bought had a smooth different textured cloak than the second one,the second one makes the zipper sound where as the first one doesn't.
I believe there is a variation on cloaks for this figure but how do I tell if the smooth cloak is genuine?

P.S. its my first proper post so go easy on me lol!

itfciain

Grand Master
I have to say that sometimes when I take pictures of some of the whiter figures, like the Stomies and the Hoth Stormies that they can come out a bit whiter - however if there is yellowing then I will always mention it.