Advice/Help please from members in the USA

Michael Sith

Grand Master
Supporter
I'm looking to bid on 3 items in US ( South Carolina) cardbacks with attached bubbles.

They currently have postage at £18 per item ( seller has said if I win all 3 he will combine post) but how does the customs charge work as I've never purchased from US via eBay before?
Each item has a customs value against it, do I pay that value separately?

Sorry for being thick but I'm a newbie to this via the USA

Any advice gratefully received :D

stu70

Padawan
It sounds like the seller is using Ebay's Global Shipping Programme, where each item generates it's own separate postal cost and customs charge, which does't allow combined shipping. I recently wanted to bid on a couple of items from a seller in the US who was using this and I queried whether he could combine shipping to the UK. He told me to request an invoice after the auction had ended and he would then give me a combined shipping cost, using ordinary US post, which would mean one customs charge, instead of the Global Shipping Programme.

Using the Global Shipping Programme you pay custom charges up front, where using ordinary US post you pay when they arrive in this country, so you won't initially pay for them when the parcel is sent.

Unfortunately I didn't win any of the items so it didn't happen, but just to let you know what I was told by a seller in the US, he also said he had sent items to the Netherlands this way. Hope this helps a bit.

Snaketibe

Grand Master
Supporter